Understanding the National Green Building Standard

Here at Swiftsure Energy Services, we are proud to announce that in addition to ENERGY STAR and RESNet certifications, we are now able to qualify projects using the NGBS Standard published by NAHB. Don’t worry, I’ll explain those terms next.

The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) has long been committed to setting building standards across the country. In 2008, they developed a standard that incorporates both energy efficiency as well as sustainable practices into one easy to understand process. This process is called the National Green Building Standard (NGBS).

Many builders and remodelers are going green with the help of NAHBGreen. The suite of services was unveiled in February 2008 to provide a comprehensive set of educational resources, advocacy tools, a credible green standard, and referrals to a national green home certification system by the NAHB Research Center, a qualified and independent third party. Collectively, these offerings help home builders anywhere build green.

Over the next several days, I’m going to take you through the use of their tool which contractors can use to obtain a NGBS score on their homes, multi-unit, and subdivisions.

This is the basis of how the NGBS works. You need 6 scores from each of the chapters 5 through 10, plus an additional 100 points.
As an example, I’m going to show you over the next several posts, a project house I’m building. It is a multi-family unit and I’m shooting for a NGBS Gold score. So, I need to start with a score of 93 from Chapter 5 (Lot Design, Preparation, and Development). In addition, I need to score over the minimum amounts from each chapter so when all the sections are complete, I have an extra 100 points. If I can get to a 113 on the 1st chapter, it meets the minimum of 93, plus provides 20 points of the extra 100 required at the end.

If you are interested in what it takes to get started on their web-site, all it takes is a free account and registration.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You then have to answer some basic questions about your project before you really get started.

Most builders will pick the building, but developers have the option to rate the entire project.

There are different paths to consider depending on the building project.

These project variables are used for description and validated later in the project.

Next time I’ll start showing the actual data entry steps and take you through sample questions of all 6 chapters.

I’d love to hear what your experiences are using the Green Building Standard Tool as I’m showing it here. There is also an Excel version for use in the field when internet access is not available.

About Garen Thatcher

All about me? I want to make this all about you and what I can do to make your life better, smarter, and richer. Research into energy and money saving home activities is my hobby and passion. I'm also investing in it for the future. This is my journey in helping us all.
This entry was posted in Construction, Energy Savings, Personal Observations, Sustainable Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

